MacMS is proud to present Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, the macabre horror musical of revenge, obsession, corruption, deceit, murder, blood, and pies.

Written by Hugh Wheeler (book), and Stephen Sondheim (music and lyrics), and based on Christopher Bond’s 1973 play of the same name, this Tony, Drama Desk and Olivier Award winning horror musical debuted in 1979 on Broadway and 1980 on the West End and has since spawned numerous revivals. 

MacMS' 2016 production directed by Aarin Starkey will present a ‘modernised’ retelling of the much loved musical masterpiece. We are giving Sweeney a makeover, from the vengeful Edwardian barber, to the angsty hipster man-stylist, depicting his thirst for revenge and how it manifests into a distaste for all of humankind. 

CAST (in alphabetical order)

Caitlin Barton

Sarah Campbell - Tobias Ragg

Maddy Carr

Kelsi Chow

Jay Cullen - Sweeney Todd

Uma Dobia - Mrs. Lovett

Natalie Elliott - Johanna

Penny Evans

Steph Goodman

Daniel Hill - Beadle Bamford

Matthew Ho

Luke Murphy 

Amy Neville

Steven O'Mara

Michael O'Sullivan - Anthony Hope

Eloise Plant - Beggar Woman/Lucy

Max Seppelt 

Tom Southwell - Judge Turpin

Daniel Whitehead

David Wotherspoon

Henry Yau - Adolfo Pirelli/Jonas Fogg


Aarin Starkey - Director

Zac Threadgold - Musical Director

Chloe Angel - Vocal Director

Elizabeth Dobb - Assistant Director

Jack Goggin - Technical Director

Quin Brunner - Executive Producer

Karina Bodnaruk - Set Designer